I have to know…

I just came in from my back yard and my father-in-law’s field where I was on my knees crying my guts out to my heavenly Father. When was the last time you cried your guts out before the Lord? This is when you cry so hard that you can barely breathe and you begin heaving… I wasn’t crying my guts out over my prodigal spouse or my legal fight to keep my children. I was crying my guts out because I’m afraid I’m missing something. I was crying my guts out because I want to know Him better. I was crying my guts out because I have to know…

I have to know. Is there something I’m missing in my relationship with God? I have to know… Is there a separate baptism of the Holy Spirit, as mentioned in Luke 24:49, Acts 1:4, Acts 1:8, and  1 Corinthians 12:1-31? Am I called to something more? Is this pentecostal stuff a bunch of spiritualist mumbo jumbo bandied about by prosperity charlatans, or is this just another truth of the Word of God that we cast off in the seeker sensitive mega church because it’s uncomfortable and scares the cappuccino sipping yuppies away? I honestly don’t know, but I have to know…

So, tomorrow, I’m going to our local AOG Church instead of my usual place of worship. Honestly, I feel dry and thirsty. I want to be surrounded by people who believe God is real and not a nice idea to go along with all the LED screens, professional production, and trendy coffee bar furniture. I want to be around people who don’t think I’m crazy for standing, who don’t think the idea that my wife is under demonic influence is crazy and irrational, and who are willing to entertain the fact that God just might restore my marriage… I have to know… So tomorrow, I will try something new. I’ll let you know how it goes.

3 comments

  1. Been there, lived that. 3 days of yelling out to God and the holy spirit “if this is real I want it! Bring it on! Show me w what it’s about… ”

    Someone the next day prayed over me. I just decided to jump in…

    It’s real… real as the field you were in

  2. It was good. The pastor, Jason Tourville’s message was on the Holy Spirit, 1 Corinthian’s 12, and the gifts of the Spirit. I gave my friend Mike, who went along, a word of knowledge before we left, which was so dead on that it was creepy… LSS, I have the Holy Spirit and I’m not losing my mind.

    The folks there seemed very genuine and open. I may head back this Wednesday night.

Leave a Reply

