Be my refuge…

8076301689_dcbaefd6d8_b

Some rights reserved by surfstyle

I need a refuge. We all do. We just don’t realize it until things get this bad. I am sick. I am worn down. I am tired. I hurt deeply, but I refuse to give up. So, I keep asking Him to be my refuge. My devotions, the sermons I’m listening to, and even my friends are reminding me that He is my refuge. I even signed up for this “Spirit of Prophecy Bulletin” thing a friend told me to try. I had forgotten all about it, but I got this email yesterday:

Be good; be strong; be faithful. For, by the power of My spirit I have entered in to you and caused spiritual life to become active. Acknowledge the fact that I am doing My work in you. And, the very good work that I have begun in you I will complete. All you have to do is believe, line up and walk with Me in the way that I will lead you. I will empower you by My spirit to do the things that I have asked of you. Will I not bless you according to My word? For, you are My chosen ones, you are My children in whom I am blessed. Connect yourself to Me. Acknowledge Me this day. I am going to go with you from this place into that which is before you. Oh yes, even into those things that you do not know about yet. For, I have promised you that the day of surprises are about to come forth. And, you will be surprised! Your surprise will be filled with enjoyment, laughter and peace. So, come forth now and walk with Me, says the Lord.

You can make great strides spiritually if you will set your mind on spiritual things instead of on worldly things. This is a matter of discipline, but you can do it, says the Lord.
2 Corinthians 10:4-5 For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ.

Then, in my son’s devotional, and on the way to school this morning listening to a podcast, this verse came up:

 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Phil 4:13).

Honestly, I don’t really have any point whatsoever. I have no wisdom. I have nothing profound to say. Here’s all I know. God is working and He is blessing me. I have received so many small surprise blessings over the last three weeks that I am in awe of his providence and goodness. God is blessing me with everything from free parts for my broken lawn mower to anonymous cash in my mail. He is most often blessing me through all of my friends and prayer warriors, their prayers, their visits, and their support.

I am in the midst of a battle. I can see that there is serious warfare going on. Last night, while making a great gesture of “I’m never coming back”, it was clear to me that my wife was struggling to maintain her composure. The devil is fighting hard to keep hold of her but God is greater! The more combative she is, and the more she tries to distance herself from me, the more I know that God is working on the other side of this mountain that will soon be cast into the sea.

I am still sick over the coming of summer. I am still fearful and doubtful of His goodness and providence. HOW CAN THAT BE? Am I blind or deaf? Even my in-laws are supportive of me. How can I not rest in His mighty provision and see the future with absolute hope and anticipation? As I said earlier, I am in the midst of a battle. I can see that there is serious warfare going on. There is a spirit of heaviness and oppression and doubt upon me and I need to respond with His Word.

 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Phil 4:13).

The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. (2 Corinthians 10:4)

I know that if I make Him my dwelling, my refuge, that no harm will befall me, no disaster will come near to my tent. For He will command His angels concerning me to guard me in all my ways (Psalm 91:9-11). I need to internalize these truths! I need to know that:

1 God is our refuge and strength,
an ever-present help in trouble.
2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
3 though its waters roar and foam
and the mountains quake with their surging.[c]

4 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
the holy place where the Most High dwells.
5 God is within her, she will not fall;
God will help her at break of day.
6 Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

7 The Lord Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

8 Come and see what the Lord has done,
the desolations he has brought on the earth.
9 He makes wars cease
to the ends of the earth.
He breaks the bow and shatters the spear;
he burns the shields[d] with fire.
10 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

11 The Lord Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Psalm 46 For the director of music. Of the Sons of Korah. According to alamoth. A song.

That’s all I’ve got.

Leave a Reply

