Praying the Armor of God

Some rights reserved by mikecogh

Some rights reserved by mikecogh

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard in the last two months of reading devotionals and listening to Bible Studies and sermons, that I need to pray the armor of God upon myself and my family. I’ll be honest. This has been a struggle. It’s like I have a block in my mind (probably some spiritual warfare there). My first attempt at this is here, where I basically personalized the scripture. This is serious stuff. I’m in a battle, and the enemy is unrelenting.

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. (Ephesians 6:12-13)

The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. (2 Corinthians 10:4)

Today, I decided to fire up Google and do some research. Here are some helpful sites I found:

There are a lot more, but I decided to copy these into my notebook and get to work. I spent some time personalizing them, and I ended up working on The Armor Of God Prayer from the Christian Fencers Association to create a prayer that covered my whole family. Here’s a version with named removed for the protection of the innocent:

Praying the Armor on my family.

Lord, today I pray the Full Armor of God upon my and my family.

Help us to put the Helmet of Salvation on our heads that we might always remember we are saved, and who we belong to. Remind my prodigal spouse today that she is yours. Remind me of the same. Make yourself real to my children today. Guard our minds in Christ Jesus, and that we may have the mind of Christ and that we may think the thoughts of Christ and reject all others.

Help us to put the Breastplate of Righteousness on so that we may walk about in Righteousness and others may see your Righteousness in us. Guard our hearts in Christ Jesus, and that we may have the desires of Christ and reject all others. Renew my spouse’s heart, God. Give her a heart that is soft and can hear you. Guide our children’s hearts in this time of confusion. Comfort and strengthen them.

Help us keep the Belt of Truth securely buckled on our waists. Help me to speak truth and discern truth. Shine your light of truth on my wife so that she may see darkness from light and choose light. May I always be secure in the knowledge of the Truth and always speak the Truth. Give my son, my daughter, my wife and I all a heavy burden for the truth. Speak loudly to our conscience!

Help us to fit our Feet with the Readiness that comes from the Gospel of Peace, that we may stand firm in the Gospel, and spread the Gospel of Peace wherever we go. Fill our home with your peace that passes all understanding. Allow me to radiate that peace. Show my wife how to find that peace. Reveal the path and the way to her!

Help us to hold the Shield of Faith with which to extinguish the flaming arrows of the evil one. Strengthen my arms and help me hold it high, that I may use it to protect myself, my family, my household and those under my care. Lord, help me use the Shield of Faith to press ahead and push forward for the kingdom of God. I intercede for my wife that my shield may cover her and protect her from the fiery darts that are ripping our family apart and leading her into the trap of the Devil who has taken her captive to do his will. Shield my precious children from the many darts they are being exposed to in this battle that is beyond their control.

And Lord, help me take up the Sword of The Spirit which is the Word of God, and use it every day! Help me to use it to protect myself and my family from the evil one through the power and authority of Your Word. Help me to use Your Words to deny the attacks on my mind, to intercede for my wife, and to guide my path. I pray that your sword will be wielded often in the presence of my prodigal spouse and her inner circle to strike the hearts and minds of those who do not know You, calling them towards repentance and salvation; to cause those who know you but are backslidden to repentance, obedience and service; and to help awaken those who know you, but are asleep so they may obey and serve you! Please help us to use your Word to bring, encouragement, strength and wisdom to those around us.

Help us serve you this and every day. Please use us and restore us to Your purpose, Lord. Cover us in your blood and give us all a phalanx of fellow believers to pray for us and have our backs in this fight. These things I ask in the Name of Jesus Christ,

Amen

Hopefully this prayer will help you in your stand. I know that I need to pray this like six or so times today. I will likely expand this further, using the information from Prayer for Putting on the Whole Armor of God and with some more of the scriptures that I’ve received from RMM. My problem is that eventually my written prayers get too long and complex. I hope that the above prayer is one I can use daily without fighting to stay on task.

Leave a Reply

