Be prepared…

But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander. (1 Peter 3:15-16)

I am not prepared. I have not often given the best answers as of late. My least favorite question, which everyone asks me, is, “are you excited for your summer vacation?” No I am not. My family is broken. My one-flesh covenant relationship has been rent in two. I will often be alone with not much to do but work around and on my lonely house that we built together. I will have the occasional distraction of sitting in court. I wish I just had a big sign to wear that said, “DON’T ASK ME ABOUT SUMMER, PLEASE!” The thing is that I am supposed to be walking in victory. I am to be standing firm, remembering:

  • “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:18-19
  • “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11
  • Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.” Ephesians 3:20
  • “Have faith in God.” Jesus answered…“Therefore, I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.” Mark 11:22, 24
  • “I will give them an undivided heart and put a new spirit in them; I will remove from them their heart of stone and give them a heart of flesh. Then they will follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws. They will be my people, and I will be their God.” Ezekiel 11:19-20
  • “What then shall we say to this? If God is for us, who is against us?” Romans 8:31
  • and so on…

Still, I hurt. I feel the pain and dread and grief every time I hear the word, summer. Most often I simply answer in complete honesty. “No, I’m dreading summer actually.” That is not a very good witness to the faithfulness of Christ. That is a failure to witness. That is a victory for the enemy.

Pray for me that I may be prepared, both to give an answer and for my summer vacation.

Leave a Reply

