Praying the scriptures: How one stander faces the day.

4827914502_92ac4165cb_z

Some Rights Reserved by Adelle & Justin

Last time, I talked about praying the scriptures for my prodigal spouse. I promised that I would follow up with scriptures I pray for myself and fellow standers.

Here are the scriptures that I am praying for myself before I even leave the covers in the morning. Actually, I need this prayer to get me out of the covers most mornings these days.

Good morning lord,

 
Help me today, in Jesus name. May I trust in you with all of my heart today and lean not on my own understanding, for I do not understand what is happening in this spiritual battle. Help me, in all of my ways, to submit to You, and You will make my paths straight (Proverbs 3:5-6).

 
Lord, I do not even want to get out of bed this morning. Help me to be strong in YOU and in Your mighty power. Prepare me for today as I put on the full armor of God, so that I can take my stand against the devil’s schemes. Remind me in each moment of doubt and insecurity that our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Help me, Jesus. Help me to stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around my waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with my feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. May I take up the shield of faith, with which I can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. My faith is weak right now, Lord. Strengthen it for the day! Thank you for the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is Your word. Help me to practice your presence today, praying in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. May I be alert and always keep on praying for my family, my prodigal spouse, my fellow standers, and all of your saints (Ephesians 6:10-12, 14-18).

 
Remind me throughout the day to not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of my mind. Then I will be able to test and approve what Your will is—your good, pleasing and perfect will (Romans 12:2).

 
Finally, God, may I remember to rejoice in You always. Remind me again and again: Rejoice! Let my gentleness be evident to all. Remind me that You are near. Help me not to be anxious about anything, not my divorce, not my finances, not my circumstances, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, to present my requests to You. Fill me then with your peace, which transcends all understanding, and guard my heart and my mind in Christ Jesus. Allow me to put off thoughts of my spouse and my past and to meditate upon whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, and anything that is excellent or praiseworthy (Philippians 4:4-8).

 
In Jesus Name,
Amen

Hopefully this prayer helps you as it is helping me. I’ve never prayed the scriptures before this happened. Now I will never quit. Praise God that his word does not return void (Isaiah 55:11).

Leave a Reply

