Praying the Scriptures for your prodigal spouse

Some rights reserved by Zanthia

Some rights reserved by Zanthia

So, I keep reading and hearing that I need to pray the scriptures for my wife, so I have begun to do so. First, I’d like to share some great resources that are out there on this already:

Then, I’ll share the scriptures that I’m praying right now. I’m praying these for my wife, the prodigal spouses of other standers that have shared with me, and for “the other man”. I’m also praying a lot of scriptures dealing with spiritual warfare because that is what this is.

Lord, I know that you are trustworthy in all you promise and faithful in all you do. (Psalm 145:13)

I come now boldly and freely into your presence, freely asking these things according to your will, sure that you’re listening, confident that what I’ve asked for is as good as mine. So, I pray for _____ and ask that you give ____ life (1 John 5:13-16).

12 God, I know that my struggle is not against _______ and ________, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. (Ephesians 6:12)

_________ steps are directed by YOU. How then can _____ understand ___ own way? (Proverbs 20:24)

Lord, I pray that _________ will Flee the evil desires of youth and pursue righteousness, faith, love and peace, along with those who call on You out of a pure heart… 25 I pray that you will send your servants to gently instruct ________, in the hope that You will grant ___ repentance leading ____ to a knowledge of the truth, 26 and that _________ will come to ____ senses and escape from the trap of the devil, who has taken ___ captive to do his will. (2 timothy 2:22-26)

You are the LORD our God, who teaches us what is best for us, who directs us in the way we should go.” (Isaiah 48:17)

In ___ heart, ________ plans ___ course, but YOU establish ____ steps. (Proverbs 16:9)

“Lord, I worship and praise You that You do speak – now one way, now another—though ______ may not perceive it. In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falls on _______ as ___ slumbers in ___ bed, YOU may speak in __________’s ears and terrify ___ with warnings, to turn ___ from wrongdoing and keep ___ from pride, to preserve ___ soul from the pit, ___ life from perishing by the sword.” I thank You that _________ can pray to You and find favor with You, ________ sees Your face and shouts for joy; ________ is restored by You to ___ righteous state. Then _________ will come to men and say, ‘I sinned, and perverted what was right, but I did not get what I deserved. God redeemed my soul from going down to the pit, and ______ will live to enjoy the light.'” (Job 33:14-18, 26-28)

Many are the plans in _______’s heart, but it is YOUR purpose that prevails. (Proverbs 19:21)

I pray that _______ may have Godly sorrow that brings repentance, leads to salvation and leaves no regret. (2 Corinthians 7:10)

Lord, I am praying for ________ and for every prodigal who is away from you. Lord, open their eyes and turn them from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God, so that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in You (Acts26:18).

Lord, I know that _________’s life is not _____ own; it is not for _____ to direct _____ steps. (Jeremiah 10:23)

“Lord, I pray that You will sprinkle clean water on _______, and _________ will be clean; You will cleanse _________ from all ___  impurities and from all ___ idols. You will give _______ a new heart and put a new spirit in ___; You will remove from _____ ____ heart of stone and give ____ a heart of flesh…Then those around us that remain will know that You the LORD have rebuilt what was destroyed and have replanted what was desolate. YOU the LORD have spoken, and You will do it.” (Ezekiel 36:25-26, 36)

May you have the Glory, oh God!!!

So, I keep asking You, the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give _______ the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that ___ may know You better. I pray also that the eyes of __________’s heart may be enlightened in order that ___ may know the hope to which You have called ___, the riches of Your glorious inheritance in the saints, and Your incomparably great power for us who believe. (Ephesians 1:18-19).

Lord, I pray that _______ will seek You while YOU may be found; that _______ will call on You while You are near. I pray that _______ will forsake ___ wicked ways and ___ thoughts. Lord, I pray that ___ will turn to YOU, and You will have mercy on ___ and You will freely pardon _____.” (Isaiah 55:6-7)

God, please block ______’s path with thornbushes; wall _______ in so that ___ cannot find ___ way. _______ will chase after ___ lovers but not catch them; ___ will look for them but not find them. Then _____ will say, ‘I will go back to my spouse as at first, for then I was better off than now.” (Hosea 2:6-7)

I know that your word that goes out from your mouth: It will not return to you empty, but will accomplish what YOU desire and achieve the purpose for which You sent it. (Isaiah 55:11)

I ask all of these things in Jesus name, Amen.

Finally, I want to share this expanded take on Hosea, Chapter 2, verses 1-8, that comes from 5 things to pray for the prodigal.

  1. “Father, please allow ______’s path to be filled with misery, frustration and irritation.” (verse 6a) – This isn’t to be mean. We pray this because we love them.
  2. “Father, please make ______ unable to clearly see what to do; please cause confusion.” (verse 6b)
  3. “Father, please keep ______ from finding the satisfaction for which ___ is searching.” (verse 7a)
  4. “Father, please allow ____ to see ___self as You see ___ and create a desire to come back.” (verse7b) – No prodigal will come back to God until they first come to themselves. This means that they recognize that they got themselves where they are, and it’s their responsibility to do what it takes to get out.
  5. “Father, please bring to ______’s mind the good and allow ___ to forget the bad, pain, hurt, etc.” ( verses 7c-8)

Next time, I’ll share the scriptures I’m praying for myself.

7 comments

    1. I’m going through the same thing of a prodigal spouse. Keep your eyes on GOD. Give yourself to God so you can change and wait on God’s promise.

  1. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this. This brings me a lot of encouragement. It comforts me to know I’m not the only one who believes in fighting for their spouse even when the world tells you you’re wasteing your time for doing so.

  2. Thank you for taking the time to find these scriptures and share them. Praying Gods word back to Him is the best we can do. In his words we do find comfort.

  3. Amen. I have been standing for my marriage restoration for over a year and a half. I have prayed scriptures and then vered off. I found your site yesterday and the funny thing is that the scriptures you posted are many I prayed some time ago. Thank you for sharing. I’d love to hear your testimony. I pray God has resotelred your marriage. Amen

Leave a Reply

